How to Get a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit
How To Get A Missouri Concealed Carry Permit
If you are a resident of the state and meet certain requirements, you can apply for a concealed carry permit and enjoy the protection of your Second Amendment rights. In this article, we will provide an overview of the process of obtaining a concealed carry permit in Missouri.
Step 1: Determine if you are eligible for a concealed carry permit
To be eligible for a concealed carry permit in Missouri, you must:
- Be at least 19 years of age (or 18 if you are a member of the military)
- Be a resident of the state of Missouri for at least six months
- Not have any convictions for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
- Not have a history of alcohol or drug abuse
- Not be the subject of a protection order
- Not be involuntarily committed to a mental health facility
- Not be a fugitive from justice
Step 2: Take a firearms training course
Before you can apply for a concealed carry permit, you must complete a firearms training course approved by the Missouri Department of Public Safety. The course should cover topics such as firearm safety, use of force, and Missouri firearms laws. You can find a list of approved courses on the Missouri Department of Public Safety website.
Step 3: Complete the concealed carry permit application
Once you have completed your firearms training course, you can complete the concealed carry permit application. The application is available on the Missouri Department of Public Safety website and can be submitted either in person or by mail. You will need to provide the following information on the application:
- Your personal information, including your name, address, and contact information
- Your training certificate from the firearms training course you took
- Any other documentation required by the Missouri Department of Public Safety
Step 4: Submit the application and pay the fee
Once you have completed the application, you will need to submit it to the Missouri Department of Public Safety, along with any required documentation and the required fee. The fee for a concealed carry permit in Missouri is $100 and is non-refundable.
Step 5: Wait for your permit to be approved
Once you have submitted your application and fee, you will need to wait for your permit to be approved. The processing time for a concealed carry permit in Missouri can take up to 90 days. If your application is approved, you will receive your concealed carry permit in the mail.
Step 6: Renew your permit as necessary
A Missouri concealed carry permit is valid for five years. You will need to renew your permit before it expires if you wish to continue carrying a concealed weapon. To renew your permit, you will need to complete a renewal application, pay the renewal fee, and provide proof that you have completed any additional firearms training required by the Missouri Department of Public Safety.
Obtaining a concealed carry permit in Missouri is a straightforward process, as long as you meet the eligibility requirements, complete the required training, and follow the steps outlined above. If you have any questions about the process, you should contact the Missouri Department of Public Safety for assistance.